Weekly Wrap Up: May 10-16th 2010

Gorgeous weather this week!  Sunny, warm, little wind…it was a perfect spring week.

Monday: Bright and early 500m swim focusing on technique. 27 minute walk run session @ 2 minute walk/3 minute run up the big hill – resulting in IT band twinges. L Followed with a good stretch & foam roller session.

Tuesday: 12.5km road ride.  Gorgeous lake views most of the way!

Wednesday: Rest day.  🙂  Switched Wed/Thurs training to spend time with friends who were visiting from out of town.

Thursday: 700m swim in the morning.  Did 10x50m sets, plus warm-up & cool-down.  Felt pretty good!  Evening walk/run session (2.5 minutes walk/2.5 minutes run) with no IT band issues.

Friday: Attempted 15km bike ride.  Made it 12km before getting a flat tire.  Averaged 23.5 km/hr though!

Saturday: Hot and humid day here, so I hit up the tiny gym attached to my pool for a run.  30 minutes on the treadmill, alternating 2 min walk/3 min run @ 1-5% incline.  Walked @ 4-4.5mph, ran @ 6-6.6mph.  Slight IT twinges during last running interval – boo!  Followed up with a 750m swim, doing 100m’s of whatever I technique drills I could think of.

Sunday: 15km bike ride – pretty flat.  Legs were feeling pretty dead by the last km or so and I was definitely feeling my seat, if you know what I mean.  Ugh.

What went well this week:

Hello – I got every single scheduled workout in!

What was tricky:

Flat tire.  Boo.  Then I realized my spare was a little old (like 8 yrs old!) and was a little stiff in a couple of spots.  Then I bought the wrong size replacement tube and had to head back down to the store.  Luckily it only took about 5 minutes to change.

What I’ll do differently next week:

I said I was going to try to push my swimming endurance last week, but I really didn’t.  I enjoyed the 10x50m swim drills I did, and I think I’m going to keep going with those for a workout – maybe push some to 75m?  I’m still waffling on keeping my walk/run sessions at 2:30/2:30 or moving to 2/3.  I had IT twinges with the 2/3 on both runs last week, so the prudent thing would be to keep them at 2:30/2:30.  *sigh* I just hate that I have the cardio endurance to do much more running, but my knees are holding me back.

As for the bike part, I’m going to try some speed intervals to see if I can up my average km/hr.  I’ll also pick up another tube to have on hand as a spare. 🙂

0 Responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: May 10-16th 2010”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


