Flat

The one time I go out for a ride without a pump and spare tire…I get a flat.

I always carry a pack with all of the essentials when I’m riding trails – always.  It’s got a snack (usually a stale clif bar), small emergency first aid kit, pump, spare tire, tire levers, allen key set, and a couple other small tools.  Tonight I went out to do a 15km road ride and figured I’d leave it behind because a) it’s not super comfortable to carry, even though it’s small, and b) I figured nothing could go wrong on the road.

I was wrong.

At about the 12km mark I noticed things were getting pretty bumpy on my rear end.  Really, really bumpy.  I briefly considered trying to ride the remaining 3km on the rim, then remembered the price difference between a 3km walk home (free) and a new rim ($$$).  The walk won out 🙂

I’m lucky it happened where it did, and I only had to push my bike for 3km.  Moral of the story – pack the essentials, no matter what!

Off to watch a chick flick with a friend.  Tomorrow morning I’ll be up bright and early-ish for a run/swim brick – can’t wait!

0 Responses to “Flat”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


