What a difference a tune-up makes!

I picked up my bike from the shop after work today and was itching to get out for a ride.  I’ve gotta say, I feel like I have a new bike!  They changed out my shift cables (I think that’s what they’re called anyway) and it is incredible how responsive my shift lever are now.  No more random gear shifting in the middle of hill climbs – yay!

My training schedule called for a 6.5km ride today, but the weather was amazing so I stretched it out a little longer.  My ride took me along a fairly flat route along the highway above the lake and it was such a nice view of the water for most of the ride.  I wound up doing 12.5km in about 32 minutes, averaging 22km/hr.  I’ve been looking at the stats for the triathlon I’m prepping for, and this would put me solidly in the 10 or so slowest bikers from last year.  Hmmmm.  Not really liking that thought – mountain bike or no, I’d like to do better than that!  I wasn’t really pushing it tonight as I just felt like riding for the sake of riding.  I think I’m going to try the same route (or a little further out & back) later this week to see what kind of speed I can get if I put my all into it.  I really do need to get my biking solid to make up for my less-than-solid swim!

0 Responses to “What a difference a tune-up makes!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


