Weekly Recap: May 2-9 2010

This week felt really, really good.  I got in my highest number of consecutive pool lengths to date and my running felt fantastic.

Monday: 450m swim in the morning. 27 minute walk run session @ 2.5 minute walk/2.5 minute run up the big hill.  Was supposed to be 30 minutes but I miscalculated the time it would take to cover the distance…

Tuesday: Bike ride on some double track.  The trail we rode is at the bottom of a river valley with a gentle slope.  We did about 7.5km out with a nice gentle decline, then had to ride that same 7.5km back up…the incline felt a lot less than gentle coming back.

Wednesday: Swim in AM.  Miscounted laps and wound up doing only 375m.  Thought it was 500m.  There is a reason I need some caffeine in the morning!  Another walk/run session, this time 33 minutes doing 2.5 minutes walking/2.5 minutes running.

Thursday: Rest day.  I really felt like I needed it this week.

Friday: Swam in the morning –a total of 500m.  Was supposed to go for a bike ride in the evening but pushed it off until Saturday instead.

Saturday: 90 minute trail ride – found a new trail that was pretty fun, lots of tight turns and some small obstacles.  Nice and fast to ride! J Did a 33 minute walk/run session in the evening (2.5 minute walk/2.5 minute run) covering 4.54km.

Sunday: 700m swim, including a full 100m without stopping!  This in the longest stretch I’ve done so far, and am really looking forward to continuing to build endurance.  It really was a push for me to complete, so I think I really need to work on 100m comfortably before moving on to 125m.

What went well this week:

Great weather!  And, I managed to get 4 swim workouts in.

What was tricky:

Bike was having some shifting issues, so had to go in to get some TLC at the bike shop.  This meant I only got 2 rides in this week instead of 3.

What I’ll do differently next week:

I’m going to try to push my swimming endurance this week, and see if I can knock off 100m non-stop at least once during each workout.  I’m also going to try to get 4 bike rides in this week, even though I’m only scheduled for 3.  I need to get some more road practice in.  Trails are fun, but I need to get used to pushing for speed on the pavement.

0 Responses to “Weekly Recap: May 2-9 2010”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


