I am a runner

I had an “I am a runner” moment last night.

My walk/run session last night took me through the downtown core of my tiny town – which, by the way, is pretty much deserted at 7pm on a Saturday night with the exception of the 7-11 parking lot and the one video rental store in town.  During the “run” portions of my outing I’d catch a glimpse of myself in the darkened storefront windows, and you know what?  I looked like a real, honest-to-goodness runner.  My form was great.  I looked like I was running effortlessly.  And the best part?  I felt great!

When I started training for my first triathlon last month, I had concerns that I wouldn’t be able to run the 3km required for a super-sprint distance.  Now I think I’ll be able to knock that out of the park. 🙂  I’m even contemplating entering a 10k race at the end of June – yikes!  I figure that as of now, I can do 4.5km with 2:30 minute walk/run intervals in 32:30 minutes.  My pace right now would translate to somewhere around 1:15:00-ish.  If all goes well with my training until then, I’m thinking I could absolutely go sub-60 minutes, even with a few walking breaks.  This makes me giddy!

In other news, my bike is in the shop for a few repairs.  While biking yesterday morning I noticed the shifting was getting funky – unresponsive, heavy, randomly shifting gears (not cool in the middle of a rocky hill climb!).  The diagnosis?  My poor bike is in desperate need of new cables and some TLC.  It has been a little neglected while sitting in my basement for the past couple of years, so my local bike shop is going to give it some love and have it ready for me on Tuesday.  To make up for missing todays long ride I’m going to hit the pool for an extra workout.

0 Responses to “I am a runner”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


