Workout Recap: April 26th to May 2nd

What a great week!  I’m really finding that following an actual training plan is helping a ton and I am loving checking off each session as I finish it. I only have one more punch on my pool pass, and I think I’m ready to make the plunge to a 3-month pass this week.

Monday: 25 minute walk run session @ 3 minute walk/2 minute run.  I’ve decided that Monday’s will be my “run up the big hill” day – I will conquer that hill eventually!

Tuesday: Got my car back from the shop – yay!  Was scheduled to do a 5km road ride, but ended up doing 60 minutes or so of trail riding instead – much more fun, in my opinion.  I thought my sit-bones had toughened up but was proven wrong.  Ouch.

Wednesday: Either 350 or 400 m swim (I lost count).  I think I was in the pool for about 20 minutes.  Need a better plan of attack for the swim part to keep me focused and will try writing down a workout to bring with me for my next swim.  Did another walk/run session in the evening (3 min walk/2 min run) – felt great!

Thursday: 40 min or so bike ride through some fairly flat double track – lots of really sticky mud that made cleaning up my bike a pretty big chore afterwards.

Friday: Woke up with a sore throat and stuffed up head so I decided to skip the swim and just drink a couple of cups of tea before hitting the road and driving south.  Had lunch with a friend and did some shopping in the city and continued on to my folks place.  Was still feeling crappy in the evening, so decided to make Friday my rest day for the week and hit the hay early.

Saturday: Lounged around and had a leisurely morning visiting with my mom & dad.  Decided to go for a walk/run session around 10:30 and stepped outside into….smoke!  The town was conducting a huge controlled burn on the hill above my parents place and it was incredibly smoky.  The smoke was blowing away from the area I was planning to head to so I decided to give it a go.  Big mistake.  Smoke + head cold = miserable me.  I made it for 20 minutes and was done.  Spent the rest of the day cooped up in the house because of how smoky it was outside.

Sunday: Woke up feeling slightly less crappy.  Drove 4 hours home in the afternoon and had a mental debate the whole way about whether or not I should go for my planned bike ride tonight.  I had made up my mind to go just as it started raining, so I really had to push myself out the door…but I did it!  I did 6.5 km in 22 minutes – I definitely need to pick up the speed a lot – and I was soaked to the skin when I got home. Good news though, my butt has finally adjusted to the saddle.  Yay for happy butts!

What went well this week:

I’m happy that I got in all but one of my scheduled workouts even though I headed out of town.

What was tricky:

Waking up with a cold made Fri/Sat/Sun a little crappy, but other than skipping my swim I managed ok.  Oh, and I really couldn’t have foreseen the smoky conditions at my folks place, so though it was tricky, I did what I could.  In the summer I often get sent to work in areas that are under threat from forest fires, so if I want to keep up my running sessions (which will likely be the only exercise I’ll be able to fit in during those times) I’m going to have to run in some smoky conditions.  Not ideal, but at least I got a taste of how much more difficult it might be.

What I’ll do differently next week:

This is the week that I step up my swimming, going from 2x/week to 3x/week.  It’ll be even more challenging because my 2x/week has actually been more like 1x/week for the past couple of weeks.  I’m also going to try to do at least 2 of my bike sessions on the road vs on trails.

0 Responses to “Workout Recap: April 26th to May 2nd”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


