I love trail riding!

I met up with my friend Shorty last night and we headed up to a mountain bike trail system up on the plateau.  When we got to the parking area there were a few other cars, but we didn’t see anyone else the entire time – it was awesome!  Neither of us was super familiar with the area, but we managed to find a loop that took about an hour to do.  It was fast and roll-y, with enough uphill to have us both gasping for air, and enough downhill to make the uphill worth it.  I really do have to get my shift timing better, as there were a couple of hills that I totally should have made it up, but didn’t because I was in the wrong gear heading into it.  We also found an area that was pretty flat but filled with all sorts of technical trail features (aka TTF’s).  Unfortunately it was starting to get dark and we weren’t quite sure how long it was going to take to get back to the car, so we couldn’t hang around and play, but we’re definitely going back soon to try out some of the fun teeter-totters and ramps!

On a triathlon-ish note, I think I’ve actually come up with a pretty good plan that is ambitious without being intimidating, and will have me more than ready for a Try-a-Tri/Super Sprint by August, with the option of going for a Sprint if I’m feeling up to it.  I took a hybrid of the two I mentioned in my last post and am really looking forward to progressing with it.  I’m going to put my weekly planned workouts into the side bar (if I can figure out how to do it) and will revisit each week to see how I did.

On today’s schedule is a 350 yd swim, which I did already this morning, though I think I might have done 400 instead – gotta keep track in my head better!  After work I’ll be heading out to do a 25 minute walk/run session consisting of 3 min walk/2 min run).

I’m off to work – Happy Humpday!

0 Responses to “I love trail riding!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


