Weekly Round-up: April 19-25th

This week was a bit “off” for me due to my car problems, but I managed to get in a bit of training and that makes me happy!

Monday: I was supposed to swim in the morning, but slept in – whoops!  Did a walk/run session in the evening up a killer hill (seriously – all uphill out, then all downhill back).  I can’t wait for the day when I can run the entire hill!

Tuesday: I was supposed to swim again in the morning…but yes, I slept in again.  Not cool!  My evening plans of a nice long trail ride were kiboshed by my car issues, but I went on a 5km hilly hike with a friend instead.

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Walk/run session in the evening.

Friday: Drank wine…

Saturday: Walk/run session in the morning.

Sunday: 20 minute bike ride, followed by 15 minute walk run session.  My first quasi-brick workout – yay!

What went well this week:

I stayed consistent with my walk/run program and even managed to push things a little farther.  I did my first real road ride on my bike, which was huge for me!

What was tricky:

Not having my car, coupled with skipping Monday’s swim, meant no swimming at all for me this week.  I am debating trying to go on my lunch hour tomorrow, but I may wait until Wednesday…not sure yet.

What I’ll do differently next week:

I think I might accelerate my super-slow transition program a bit and start spending only 1 to 1.5 weeks on each walk/run time interval…but I’ll keep listening to my joints to avoid injury!  I also think I need to start following an actual training plan that lays out when & how long I should be doing things each week.  I’m torn between this one, which is gets you towards a super-sprint/try-a-tri distance in 10 weeks, or this one, which takes you from total beginner up to a sprint distance in 22 weeks.  Ultimately I’d like to do sprint distances because there are just so many more race options, but I don’t want to set myself up for failure by pushing my knees beyond what they can truly handle.

0 Responses to “Weekly Round-up: April 19-25th”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


