Can I call it a brick?

I’ve got to be honest here – I hate riding my bike on the road.  It’s a mountain bike.  It’s made for trails.  It’s got fat, knobby tires and shocks with a lot of travel. I think I’ve been using that as an excuse though…because really, I think I’m embarrassed to be seen riding on the road.  I huff.  I puff.  I sweat – a lot.  And I’m slow.  So, so slow.

But, I am determined to get over it.  If I can face up to my fear of being seen in a bathing suit in public (oh, the horrors!) what’s the big deal about being seen on my bike?  It’s a stupid fear and I am officially not putting up with it anymore!

I woke up this morning and told myself that all I had to do was ride in one direction for 10 minutes, then turn around and ride back.  20 minutes total.  Completely do-able.  So, I pulled on my padded shorts, grabbed my helmet and headed out the door.  I live in a narrow valley and wasn’t really wanting to tackle any big hills to start out with, so I chose to ride along the main road through the valley.  Well, actually, I rode along the business access road that parallels the main road through the valley to try to avoid traffic as much as possible.  The bonus was that the access road has quite a few small rolling hills that the main road doesn’t, so I got to do a tiny bit of hill work.  I gotta say, it felt pretty great…until the last 500m or so back to my house.  You know that valley I live in?  Well, my house is partway up the side of the valley, and there is a stupid steep hill that just about killed me.  I was dying by the time I pulled up in front of my house and my legs felt like rubber!

I decided to take my rubber legs and see if I could to a quasi-brick workout.  I ran stumbled inside, dumped my bike and helmet, changed into my running shoes and grabbed the J-dawg for a quick jaunt around the neighbourhood.  I didn’t want to do a “real” walk/run session because I’m due for one tomorrow and I’m super paranoid about doing them on consecutive days. I’m terrified of re-injuring my knees!  Today’s session only lasted about 15 minutes, and included about 5 minutes of running, total.  Somehow I managed to time the running portions to be all uphill…gotta work on that 🙂

The sun is shining today so I’m off to do the first lawn mowing of the year and some major garden weeding!

0 Responses to “Can I call it a brick?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


