Looking on the bright side

I have a love/hate relationship with my car.  I love that it takes me where I want to go.  I love that it is completely paid for.  I love that it is fuel efficient and easy to park.  I hate putting gas in it and I really, really hate when it breaks down.  😦

I called my mechanic this morning and they sent somebody to my house (the benefits of living in a tiny town!) with a new radiator cap and topped up the coolant so I could get it in to be looked at.  As it turns out the minor servicing I had last week because my brake warning light was on wasn’t just because I had low brake fluid.  Nope, it’s because some really important brake  thingamajig is cracked and the only place to get the part is from California.  I’m in Canada.  It’s going to take 7 days for it to get here, and my car is un-drivable until then.  Crap.

I’m looking at this on the bright side though – I’ll get a ton of walking in this week!  I do live close enough to work that I can walk, I just won’t be able to pop home at lunch like I usually do, so I’ll have to do some brown bag lunch planning.  The grocery store isn’t that far out of the way, so I’ll pick up a few things at a time as I need them instead of doing a big shop on the weekend like I generally do.  And, I’ll be saving money on gas, which is always a bonus.

The only real downside (other than the $$$$ repair bill I’ll be paying next week) is that I won’t be able to get to the swimming pool or out to the mountain bike trails this weekend.  Oh, and did I mention the forecast is for rain, rain, and more rain this week…guess I’ll be breaking out the rainjacket and umbrella!

0 Responses to “Looking on the bright side”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


