New Plan

So…about that running plan…it’s knee injury 1, running 0.  I made it through the first couple of weeks, then did a kickboxing session that tweaked my left kneeand made me reassess my plan.  Some people might give up, but me, nah…I decide to train for a triathlon instead.

Yep, that’s right – a triathlon!  It’s been on my bucket list for a long time now, and I figure if I can’t do it now, when will I ever do it?  There is a Try-a-Tri in August that I am going to train for – 300m swim, 10k bike, 3k run – sounds doable to me with some training.  I’ve even mentioned it to a couple of people, so there is no backing out now!

Let’s take a look at my existing triathlon skills, shall we?

  • Swimming: Oh crap.  I have never mastered the art of breathing into the water without getting water up my nose, so a nose plug is mandatory.  I also can’t swim a whole lap yet without completely flailing.  The thought of a group swim in a lake completely freaks me out. I went to the pool for the first time in 7 or so years yesterday, and while it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, I was still very reliant on a kickboard to get from one end to the other without sputtering and flailing.
  • Swimming Training Plan: Hit the pool twice a week.  Work on distance, not speed.  Start small (rest between each length – yeah, I’m that bad!) and work up.  Get to the point where I can do 12+ lengths without stopping.
  • Biking:  Again, oh crap.  I thought this was going to be the easy part.  Yeah, not so much.  I hauled my bike out of my crawlspace this weekend and bought a helmet to replace the one I lost off the top of my car last time I went mountain biking (2.5 years ago).  I set off this morning to ride the 1.5k to work and thought it went pretty well.  Did I mention that I live in a valley, and that my house is partway up the valley side and my work is at the bottom?  Let’s just say the easy factor on the way to work was completely and utterly negated by the up factor on the way home.  Add to that my tender butt and it was a miserable (but thankfully short!) ride home.  I used commute on my bike 15k each way with no problems but I’ve definitely lost that ability.  Time to break out the padded shorts and get my biking legs back!
  • Biking Training Plan: Wear padded shorts.  Ride my bike 2-3x/week both on and off road.  I really do prefer single track to open road, but I know I’ll have to get some road miles in, including hill climbs, to really feel comfortable entering a tri.
  • Running: Still kind of “oh crap”-ish, but oddly enough, even with my knee issues, I think this might be where I’m going to be the strongest.  Wow, that is scary.  I got fitted for orthotics today to help correct a fallen arch on my left foot and to help with overpronation in both feet.  I can keep doing a slow progression, but will keep the running portions to 2 minutes and under until I actually get the orthotics (2-3 weeks).
  • Running Training Plan: I’ll keep going with this plan and see where it gets me.  I’m in no big hurry to get my mileage up, so there is no pressure.  I’ll listen to my knees and incorporate lots of stretching to help prevent further injuries.

So there you have it.  I’m going to do a triathlon.  Crazy!

0 Responses to “New Plan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tri Training Plan: Week Starting May 10th

Monday: 350m swim & 30 min walk/run session*

Tuesday: 6.5 km bike

Wednesday: 350 m swim / 30 min walk/run session

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 350 m swim / 6.5 km bike

Saturday: 30 min walk/run session

Sunday: 6.5 km bike

*walk/run sessions will be 2 min walk/3 min run this week

Post Categories


